RSS Feed Link

Fellowship will Nurture 'Scientist-founders'

on August 14, 2009 Source: Policy Dialogue on Entrepreneurship

The Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation announced recently that it has selected 13 leading scientific postdoctoral researchers to become the first class of Kauffman Postdoctoral Fellows. The thirteen postdoctoral Fellows will receive support from an academic advisor to mentor him/her on matters beyond research, and an experienced investor or corporate leader to serve as a business mentor. Fellows will also benefit from internship experience in learning how to take discoveries from lab to market

The yearlong fellowship program is an initiative to use entrepreneurship education and mentorship to equip the Fellows to commercialize their scientific discoveries. While many of the 48,000 postdoctoral researchers in the United States are doing cutting-edge scientific research, few understand the basics of the commercialization process, which can benefit the larger society. This fellowship program aims to bridge the gap by empowering postdoctoral students to take their own discoveries from the lab to the market.

"The work being done by each Fellow has enormous potential to benefit society," said Lesa Mitchell, vice president of Advancing Innovation at the Kauffman Foundation. "By teaching the Fellows how to become scientist-founders, we hope that the Fellowship will serve as a springboard into the market, helping these innovators fulfill their potential."

The 2009-2010 Fellows, along with their university affiliations, are:
•    Ankit Agarwal, University of Wisconsin - Madison
•    Vijay Chandrasekharan, University of Florida
•    David Gruber, Brown University, City University of New York
•    Yash Kolambkar, Georgia Institute of Technology
•    Riccardo LoCascio, University of California - Davis
•    Timothy Marzullo, University of Michigan
•    Samuel Mazin, Stanford University
•    Franklin Moutos, Duke University
•    Christopher Rex, University of California - Irvine
•    Carolina Salvador Morales, Harvard University
•    Praveen Kumar Vemula, Harvard University
•    Yevgen Voronenko, Carnegie Mellon University
•    Mehdi Yazdanpanah, University of Louisville

The fellows were selected from a pool of 115 applicants by a blue-ribbon Advisory Panel, made up of successful scientist-founders and Kauffman Foundation fellows with expertise in the realms of innovation and entrepreneurship. For more information about this fellowship and the 2009 fellows, click here.

Category:  General  Technology Transfer 

comments powered by Disqus

Search PDE

Policy Dialogue on Entrepreneurship Get Your Weekly Digest

Register today to receive news and updates from

Email Newsletter Signup

Past eNewsletters

View All

Email Newsletters

Want to be up-to-date with the latest news and updates from To subscribe, just give us your email address below; you'll choose which e-newsletters you'd like to receive on the next screen.